Working through the Books

Back in March I started living in a very small town in North Dakota. I could find work because the closest place with work is an hour and half away from me. So I decided to start learning again while I am out of work. I have gone back to work on my school work from Parsons & Teen Vogue University to get my certificate from there. And I have also started working my way through two new books “The Career Code” by Hillary Kerr & Katherine Power, “#GIRLBOSS” by Sophia Amoruso.

I have reached the half way point in both books. But lets start with Career Code. Hillary Kerr & Katherine Power have worked hard to get where they are and have built a business that words cannot describe. With this book it is everything I expected. So far I have learned what and how to put on a resume; much more detail than I did before I stared the book. The part of the book I already new is how to dress for the job you want. Being in fashion for over 5 years now I have learned the mistakes I made when going for an interview as well as the advantages of when I went for an interview. I also learned when and how to say what I am thinking on social media. Though we don’t always think of what we put I knew a while ago to be careful what you say and what you put out there, because once it is out there it stays out there.

Purchase your copy of The Career Code

The Career Code

As for #GIRLBOSS, I really bond with Sophia Amoruso even though she has no idea of that fact. While reading half of her book so far I have discovered that we are very similar. Though I didn’t hitch hike, or live on the streets, I have always wanted to do something that meant a lot to me. I wanted the challenge of doing things the hard way rather than the easy. She left her home early on to live life as she saw fit, then decided after a close call with the law that she wanted something more. Though my close call with the law came when I was 17, I learned after that I gave up doing the same thing as Sophia (shoplifting). But she was smart when it came to shoplifting, but she was doing it to get money; I did it so I could have things I didn’t have money for. Though I am not proud of this part in my life I am glad I went through it because it made me realize I needed a change. This is very similar to Sophia and how she got started on her path to a dazzling owner of Nasty Gal.

Purchase your copy of #GIRLBOSS 

#GIRLBOSS

Leave a Reply

